Parting out 1986 LeSabre Sesquicentennial - Need Advice

Guest Jmass0

First time poster, little knowledge about this older Buick coupe I have.

I inherited this beautiful '86 LeSabre Sesquicentennial a few years ago. Less than 75,000 miles, rebuilt engine with less than 10,000 miles on it, garaged, everything except the heat worked. Unfortunately it got tagged in a parking lot and the right side door is now inoperable.

I'm now looking to part it out if at all possible, really hoping that there may be some restoration interest somewhere. I have zero experience parting out a car and would love any tips or feedback ya'll can provide.

Thanks!

Parting out a car is not fun unless it's your business. You have to have the patience to wait years for it all to eventually be gone. You need somewhere to let it sit and stew while the occasional tire kicker wants to possibly take something, but usually not. Assuming it runs, you need to keep that part up in order to show it to potential buyers. The car ends up in pieces.

Selling it as one unit is better, unless you have this extreme patience.

Also, there aren't that many people restoring 1986 LeSabres, at least not yet, since they aren't that old.

I think I've heard of a Sesquicentennial edition--did the car come from a Texas dealer? Texas had its sesquicentennial in 1986, which is the reason I ask. I don't think the sesquicentennial edition was a nationally available model. You have a rare car, but I'm thinking it was an add-on package from a large Buick dealer (in Texas?), rather than a factory-made special edition, but I could be wrong. I'm no expert on these later model Buicks. Can you post a photo of it?

Wouldn't it be less hassle to just replace the door or take the door off and repair the one you have?

Pete Phillips, BCA #7338

Leonard, Texas