49 Dynaflow, leaking problems

Guest j49plymouth

Guest j49plymouth

I have a 49 Roadmaster, Dynaflow trans that leaks like a sieve. I just replaced the rear output shaft seal and the accumulator gaskets, car ran fine, no leaks, car sat for a month or so and now has oil all over it and a huge puddle on garage floor. This the first generation Dynaflow and was wondering if this is a common problem with them? it has been resealed twice.:mad:

Guest shadetree77

Have you replaced the front oil pump seal? If not I would try that next. I replaced mine last year along with an upgraded style of torque ball seal, a new propeller shaft seal and spring, and a new pump cover seal. It hasn't leaked a drop since. Now lemme' go find some wood to knock on.:)

Guest j49plymouth

replaced torque converter case seals, front pump seals, front pump gasket, accumulator gaskets and seals, torque ball assembly and prop shaft seals, springs etc. the next step is to completely rebuild the whole damn thing. I dislike the early GM and Ford torque tube design with a passion. It is a tossup between front wheel drive and torque tubes as to which I dislike the most. I refuse to work on the newer cars, and quit the auto dealers and went to fork lift trucks and heavy equipment before retirement.

What about the pan gasket?