THE last Pre War Buick

CarNucopia

I'm reading a book right now titled "Freedom's Forge" which is the history of how the US industrial base transitioned to producing arms for the war. They reference the last Buick made before production stopped on February 3, 1942, which is in the picture below. As I'm sure most of you know, the auto industry contributed mightily to the war effort. This book is a pretty interesting account of how it happened.

post-71232-143142534525_thumb.jpg

I am a huge WW2 history buff - have over 2000 books on it - and I agree with you 100%. And as an engineer I am amazed at what they were able to accomplish in a relatively short time without computers - all of the logistical coordination was done manually. What a lot of people don't realize is that US mobilization actually started in 1939, with a big boost in spring of '40, especially for the Navy and AAF. By late '40 it was assumed that we would be in the war eventually and plans were laid accordingly for production ramp-up, which kind of happened slowly over '41, and then of course the huge increase after 7 Dec. The book sounds interesting and I may have to add it to my stash.

Cheers, Dave

Bill:

It would be very difficult today. Our vertical integration is poor, IOW we need "stuff" from other countries, from some raw materials to finished product. For example, I think our steel production capacity is much reduced from that time. And in my industry, we were subcontracting the construction and stuffing of circuit boards for sensitive intelligence systems to companies in Taiwan. C'est la guerre.

Cheers, Dave

Guest BigDogDaddy

On a similar note, last night I watched the History Channel's The World Wars. It is very interesting and I learned a lot. World War I was the first motorized war. I knew that, but I did not know the George Patton was the first person to use motorized vehicle in a war by mounting a machine gun in a car.