65 clock

jframe

This is the disassembled clock from my 65. I am no electroics expert, but it sure looks to have been converted to quartz movement to me. Thing is, the second hand sweeps but the clock is dead. When I got it apart, I discovered the black ground strap was attached to some plastic that was broken. Anybody got a good 65 clock that they would part with? I understand that the original mechanisms would almost always function with a good cleaning, but I will take either quartz or original as long as it functions. I like the 65 style, so not really wanting a 63-64 unless nothing else is available.

20180127_142807.jpg

20180127_142815.jpg

I removed the clock from my '65 and stored it for posterity (the day I sell the car)probably never). I always switch off my battery disconnect when not driving, so it's never correct. I found the hole & location perfect for an oil pressure gauge. After a search of local parts stores & the net I was able to find a Sun gauge which fits the hole perfectly & nearly matches the appearance of the other instrumentation( very important). For me, knowing the current oil pressure is way more comforting than knowing the time, and the installation is easy (& easily reversed).    BTW, there is a proper working '65 clock for sale on Ebay.... a little rough but could be restored.              Drew

• Like 1

On 1/29/2018 at 7:49 PM, KongaMan said:

A stopped clock is right twice a day. ;)

Mr KongaMan, to remove the clock in a 63 Riviera I believe it to be a slight, but hard turn counterclockwise? I want to get the turn direction right the first time. Thank you in advance for your help.

Red Riviera Bob

• Thanks 1