67 Riviera master cylinder

tim63riv

Hello everyone!

I have a 67 Riviera master cylinder in my 63 Riviera to provide me with a dual system. When I got the car running this spring, I noticed the rear resevior(?) of the master by the booster was empty. Filled it up again and had good pedal but there must be a leaky seal in the back of the master cylinder as the chamber is low again! My question is, I have a master with a bolt on cover, not a bale. It that a Delco or Bendix master cylinder? It has performed flawlessly for over a decade and I would like to make sure that I replace it with the correct one! (I guess as correct as a 67 master on a 63 can be!)

Thanks,

Tim McCluskey

If the rear of the master cylinder is leaking you will be able to see it has been leaking if you unbolt it from the booster and look behind it.

If it is not wet back there you probably have leaking rear wheel cylinders. If you use silicone brake fluid instead of DOT 3, you will find that your

brake hydraulics will last much much longer on a car that isn't driven every day. silicone fluid is the DOT 5 fluid.

1 hour ago, tim63riv said:

It that a Delco or Bendix master cylinder? It has performed flawlessly for over a decade and I would like to make sure that I replace it with the correct one! (I guess as correct as a 67 master on a 63 can be!)

Thanks,

Tim McCluskey

Either Bendix or Morraine systems would/could be utilized for '67. The curtains should match the drapes. (Master/Booster)

The small expense for a new master and thorough inspection for downstream leaks would be the most safe approach.

Good to see the superior tech. of second gen. helping the first.

Wink ;)

35 minutes ago, Seafoam65 said:

If you use silicone brake fluid instead of DOT 3, you will find that your

brake hydraulics will last much much longer on a car that isn't driven every day. silicone fluid is the DOT 5 fluid.