'29 DA stalling and not restarting easily

I am not a great mechanic and don't want to putz my car up without direction. I have had my car in driveable condition for 6 years, but recently it has been stalling out and hard to get going again. The last month has been hot and I overfilled the gas tank. I have a 6v fuel pump I can regulate. I have the original Stromberg U-2 carb that has been rebuilt. I will say that last year the spring to the gas pedal would not retract and revved the engine up a lot and I had to lift the gas pedal up w/ my foot to idle at normal speed. I replaced spring and oiled linkage to where it's easier to idle, but it's still not perfect. Also, when I go around corners it can stall out, but then start up again while in motion when I get around corner....I downshift to 2nd gear when this happens. Lastly, when I stop  for a bit and try to start, the car seems to flood and then the starter totally shuts down, like a dead battery (I've replaced battery and checked cables and terminals...starter is also rebuilt).....no noise at all.....if I push the car backward and then put in gear, then car starts.....car putters until car performs normally and then all is fine. I'm afraid to do errands on my own as I need someone to help push car and I'd love to go to Great Race when they stop in Pueblo, CO this July 1. So these are my thoughts:

1) Carb or distributor might need adjusting  due to vibration?

2) I don't have a hole in gas cap and w/ tank so full may not have any pressure to carb?

3) Vapor lock in hot weather?

4) Gears not meshing correctly from starter to flywheel?

Any other ideas are appreciated. Thanks!

19 minutes ago, keiser31 said:

#2= Sounds like you need a vented gas cap to me.

Thanks...yeah, I have a bit of a leak where the tank float is, but overfilling the tank may have reduced any air flow......maybe I can drill current gas cap.....thanks!

Sounds like your starter is locking in when you try start it.