Brand of Axle

AHa

This 1910 Mercer appears to have American Ball Bearing axles. I am just learning about Mercer. My understanding is that in the early days, Mercer had trouble sourcing suppliers and used three different engine suppliers, Continental, Beaver, and Rutenberg. I wonder if the same was true about axle suppliers.

1910 Mercer Toy Tonneau - Other Makes and Models - Antique Automobile Club  of America - Discussion Forums

While I'm at it, the steering wheel on this car lacks the bottom ribs seen on most Mercer cars. With all the write ups extolling the virtues of the Mercer car, its very hard to find much in the way of specifics.

The Mercer below (year unknown) has a different front hub, which means, a different make of front axle. This car, probably 1912, has something closer to a Weston Mott front axle. Notice how the hub is smaller between the hubcap and flange, while the hub of the car above is straight.

Mercer Car Photos, Pictures (Pics), Wallpapers | Top Speed

Edited by AHa (see edit history)

Notice again, the front hub of this car tapers down to a neck between the hubcap and the flange. The steering wheel of this car has the typical for Mercer ribbed spokes. The 1910 car above was assembled from different components than the later Mercers. I am not very familiar with full floating rear axles. All Mercers appear to have full floating rear axles.

http://www.modelcarsmag.com/forums/uploads/post-13366-0-06034900-1392943916.jpg