Guest Karm13

Guest Karm13

Hello all I am new to the forum!

I have a 53 nash ambassador custom 

252 iron head 2 x 1 bbr carbs

It's leaking coolant from multiple places 

Around the head gasket. But runs!

I wanted to replace rod bearings 

And piston rings for it. While cylinder head is off. The engine has been rebuilt at least ounce before. 

My question is when I measured the cylinder bores they were all 3.55 the standard bore size for this application is 3.50 and oversize rings come 0.2 0.3 0.60 the oil control rings are worn as well

So they warrant replacement also, with little or no lip at the top

Has any one seen this before. 

Is it ever permissible to install 3.60 rings into a 3.55 cylinder bore? Or is it necessary to rebate the block?

Welcome to the forum! I love Rambers, Nashes, and Hudsons! Is it possible additional ring sizes were available at an earlier time too? I've assembled motors, but never gone through a whole rebuild so hopefully someone else can lend a hand. But I would think the ends of the ring would be too close together and the ring would also be at risk for cracking since it will always be compressed. Also, you'd likely get additional wear on the cylinder walls too. Again, I'm not an expert and sometimes the wrong way works better than no way, but I'd think something else is being misseed. Did you calibrate your bore gauge lately?

It is quite possible to install oversize rings. This used to be a common trick to fix an engine with tapered cylinders without boring or buying new pistons. The secret is to file the rings to size.

To do this you need to push the ring into the unworn part of the cylinder using a piston. Measure the ring gap with a feeler gauge. Take the ring and file the ends until you have the correct clearance.

To file the rings clamp the file in the vice and hold the ring in your hands. Clamp the ends of the ring over the file and file away.