Removing 39 straight eight

Guest Jamie g

Guest Jamie g

I recently got my father 1939 Buick. It's been sitting since 1982 in their basement garage. I took front clip off and all the things bolted on engine. Just needed more info do I pull the head off also it use the head  bolt to lift with. I tried to remove the bolts but to long to clear. Next question is what does everyone do stay 6 volt or change to 12. This is my first time to group thanks in advance

5 hours ago, Jamie g said:

I recently got my father 1939 Buick. It's been sitting since 1982 in their basement garage. I took front clip off and all the things bolted on engine. Just needed more info do I pull the head off also it use the head  bolt to lift with. I tried to remove the bolts but to long to clear. Next question is what does everyone do stay 6 volt or change to 12. This is my first time to group thanks in advance

Welcome to the world of '39 Buicks

Keep it 6 volt

This may interest you http://forums.aaca.org/topic/140459-1939-buick-special-restoration/

Here's how I pulled the motor.  I removed the front clip for painting, but I cannot imagine lifting that block over the front sheet metal.  I removed most everything, but left the head on so the long  bolts had support throughout their length.   Rocker arm off, head on.  

If you get a minute, check out my ongoing thread:  "1937 Model 48 Restoration has begun (photo)...." Engine removal on page one.   Good Luck!

IMG_8408.jpg.3947b5a66725d111563eb8a357136ef2.thumb.jpg.77c2b6cd27f9d3cc2d3015b74a68ec29.jpg

Engine coming out

DSC_0129.thumb.jpg.6440eced1229b68eb7fad8bf85914aeb.thumb.jpg.c36fe207155f7494302902ba57b955c4.jpg

Suspended and then rolled the chassis under

DSC_0133.thumb.jpg.2baa10519c05ddcf0a4004c8834a335a.jpg.274851e324ea392c23b6d68211b3c02c.jpg

Slowly drop her in position

Gary 

NJ

7 hours ago, Jamie g said:

Welcome to our world!