NOS Zenith updraft carburetor replacements for Marvel

Dwight Romberger

If you ever thought about swapping out your much beloved Marvel for something less challenging, this is your chance.  This guy has a bunch of different NOS Zenith updrafts for sale. I bought one of these.  It was for a GMC '41 6 cyl 248.  I think it will be a pretty good match for my '30 6cyl 257. They are just as they appear in the pictures.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/262116173741?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Edited by Dwight Romberger (see edit history)

Hi Frank,

I am not an expert. I am barely a novice at this..

Carbking is the expert, and hopefully, he will chime in. He has recommended Zenith + Stromberg updrafts as replacements for Marvels.  He also recommends getting one that was designed for as close an engine to yours (cu. inch) as possible.

Although mine was designed for a 248 and my engine is a 257, it is pretty close.  Plus, a slight variation of this carb (venture size?) was made for a 41, 42, 43 GMC Truck with a 257.

You will have to make or buy an adapter, since the Marvel flange is offset 45 degrees.

Edited by Dwight Romberger (see edit history)

Dwight - I followed the link on ebay, but was unable to read the tag number.

What follows is OPINION (mine) and others may/will have differing opinions.

Virtually any Zenith is superior to virtually any Marvel, period.

Having said that, some Zeniths are much better than others for a number of reasons.

Many (not all) of the modern Zeniths (current production) have no power circuit (power valve) to enrich the mixture under wide-open throttle application. This is normally not an issue for "parade" vehicles, or vehicles normally driven in moderately flat terrain. Those that tour will want the better Zeniths with the power circuit.