New Forum!

West Peterson and I will put on the first <span style="font-weight: bold">Trailer Towing Tips Seminar</span> on September 19, 2008 at the Southeastern Fall Meet in Cleveland, TN. The point of this forum is to collect more trailering information and operations questions, so we can put on a more informative seminar. If this forum is still active after this touring/meet season, we can leave it up.

Thanks,

Wayne

OK, I like this Forum topic and want to learn something new.

I usually tow with a Motorhome and think I'm pretty good at it. I tow either an enclosed car hauler or an open aluminum car trailer (my preferrred choice).

Now I would like to be able to tow with other than the motorhome and I'm selling my extened cab pickup and want a Tahoe or Yukon with a short wheel base that will fit in my garage.

I've been told that a short wheel base is a nightmare to tow with. So, what do the experts think??????

Where is everybody? smile.gif

OK Paul, I'm no expert by any means, but here's what I do know. The longer the wheelbase, the better the tow vehicle will handle.

I've seen and heard many people say a Tahoe tows just fine. It probably depends on how heavy the loaded trailer is. Since I'm sure you've had many miles of towing experience, you and I both realize that the weight moving qualities of the stabilizer bars make a world of difference in how your vehicle handles and stops.

Now, let's hear it from the real experts! laugh.gif

Wayne

• 1 month later...

I just discovered this forum thing and it looks interesting. There should be a book writen about trailering, because so many people don.t know what they are doing and get themselves and others in trouble. The heavier your trailer the heavier and stiffer your tow vehicle should be. Torsion bars are good and trailer brakes a must. Again depending on the load. If you are in doubt go to a company that installs hitches, they are experts and can give you advice.

Paul,