Oil pan sludge

First oil change by me on my 28. Previous owner changed it before I got it last year. Obviously had no concern for the buildup in the pan. How bad was your engine the first time you pulled the pan? What started as a quick oil filter upgrade (reproduction from Myers, very nice) and oil change has escalated to pulling the pan. There feels like a ton of slime and chunks in there. Engine runs smooth, quiet, no smoke and good oil pressure, so I'm not overly concerned.

Also, is there just a gasket under the pan or am I disturbing oil seals as well at the front?

I have no idea how that ngine had ANY oil pressure. The pickup was 90% blocked. The oil pan had been on for quite a while. There was so much crap built up between the skirt and oil pan, my god. I work on heavy trucks for a living, dump trucks, garbage trucks, this was up there! Wow. So much chisling to find the bolts under 1 inch, yes one bonafide inch of cement like built up crap. Also, there was paper in the oil pan. Interesting.

Oven cleaner can be sprayed all over inside the crankcase and hosed out to clean everything below the pistons, If there is a side or valve cover it should be opened and everything there cleaned also, clean and blow out any oil lines to be sure they are clean and open. when it is all buttoned up use a detergent oil. I like 20-40 in older engines and 10-30 in newer rebuilds.

Ok, now that I have had a shower, it wasn't that bad. Took me two hours using basic hand tools. I spent more time trying to get the perfect bends in my new oil lines to the new oil filter setup. I love the simplicity of this thing. No oil seals, looks like it slings the oil off the crank. Works pretty good, the flywheel is clean and dry!