Reviving a 1930 4 speed Transmission

Graham Man

I picked up a 1930 chassis out of a field for the 4 speed transmission.  Oiled up all the bolts and let it sit.  Last weekend I was able to pull the transmission off fairly easy.  Anyway now that it is out, I pulled the top cover with the shifter.  The transmission was water free!  Everything looks good but it will not turn.

My question is how do I bring this back to life?  I filled it with waste oil to try to rehydrate it and break it free.  Should I just put the entire transmission in a parts cleaner or just try to pull it apart?

20180302_171534_resized.jpg

20180302_171543_resized.jpg

20180306_123053.jpg

2 hours ago, Rusty_OToole said:

Looks pretty rusty to me. I think you should take it apart and replace the rusty bearings and possibly other parts as necessary. But,  I am no transmission expert.

I totally agree with Rusty.

My approach would be to fill it with a 50/50 mixture of ATF and Acetone, leave it sit for a couple of days then start tapping those gears back and forth on their splines with a bronze drift. The bearings will most likely come out without needing to turn. I am assuming they are roller bearings. Good luck with it.

I love the photo of the old girl pulling into the petrol pump. 'Fill her up'!

• Haha 1

By the way hope you are not planning on driving that car anytime soon lol.

Wonder if it would help to fill the trans with molasses solution to dissolve rust? I have never done this, have no idea if it will corrode bronze, just throwing the idea out if anyone has more experience with the molasses, or other rust removing methods.