Question about motor oil for our old cars, what's best for the really old cars

The three cars I have '23, '29 '31 have all come into my possession since the first of the year. I have very little knowledge of their history and I have no experience on anything older than the '60's. I know there are 'restorative' oils, but my concern of such oils is that they may stir up stuff enough to clog the oil passages, etc. Likewise high detergent oils. 

Worse, even if the 'restorative' oils work, would that necessarily be a good thing. 

My personal opinion is to use a very high grade of Mineral Oil (Havoline 20W50 comes to mind very quickly) and stay as far away as you can get from any synthetic stuff.  It wasn't to be had back in the day so why use it now?

Terry Wiegand

South Hutchinson, Kansas

AACA Life Member #947918

• Like 2

Your cars have relatively low compression engines and do not require Zinc additives.  Any of the least expensive oils today are much better than oils available pre-WWII.  If your cars do not have retrofitted oil filters, and have not been reconditioned, you do not need "detergent oils" to suspend solids.  The large oil pans were designed to settle out heavy contaminants in the form of sludge.  You may only need to remove the sludge if the engines are running ok and do not need to be rebuilt.  

I run 30 or 40wt non-detergent motor oil in my early cars with no filters.  I change the oil prior to winterizing the cars in the fall so they are ready to drive on the first nice spring day the following year.

• Like 5