Cylinder head rebuild advice

Frantz

I've helped assembled motors before, but this will be my first full rebuild. 1954 Ford 239. I pulled the heads and am soaking them to get them clean. Car had 70k+ on it and lots of carbon on the valves. I plan to clean and polish them but reuse them if they look straight. I have a straight edge to check the head, but I'm not planning anything more than a stock rebuild so I suspect I shouldn't need any machining. Might do a little port work, but more focused on polishing and smoothing things out.. it's a 130hp engine after all. Other than lapping the valves, checking the deck, checking the springs is there anything else I should be looking at/doing for the heads? I tend to believe that these motors just need cleaned and put back together but I'm not experienced at it.

I would think that a minimal "stock rebuild" would normally include new rings and a regrind of the valve seats and faces, with modest milling of the head. With 70,000 miles on it, I would be surprised if you didn't also have some cylinder wall taper and wear on the valve guides, as well as the rod and main bearings.  So at minimum, unless you're not planning on driving the car, I think you need to measure all the wearing surfaces and assess the overall condition, and only then decide on how extensively you're going to rebuild the engine. A fill rebuild shouldn't be very expensive on that engine -- nowhere near what I'm used to on my older cars. And money spent now might well save you from having to spend more later. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

59 minutes ago, jrbartlett said: