Locking door handle

ebak210

Hello,

I have a 1928 Buick Master with this locking handle, but I do not have any key for it. I m not sure if this is the correct handle for this car, but since all four handles are the same type, I decided to keep them. All doorlocks are working fine. The outside length of the handle is 4 1/4", the length of the handle included the axle is 4 13/16".

A few weeks ago I bought a new locking cylinder which I hope is the correct one for this handle. It is a Briggs & Stratton cylinder. Outside diam is 5/8"( which  is the same as the old one), inside diam is 1/2". Total length is 1 31/32".

Can anyone who are familiar with this type of handles tell me if the new cylinder is the correct one for this handle, and how do I remove the old one without destroying anything ? It is in the "locked" position, I have removed the small parts inside the escutcheon, but are not able to remove the escutcheon itself because of the locking piece sticking out of the axle.

20181216_201547.thumb.jpg.8e009e8537eccef9d9ff635ae6905c1b.jpg20181216_201513.thumb.jpg.8782b591c9a5f87c6925187f8fea5f31.jpg20181216_201834.thumb.jpg.1812abf6c92fa9d22f9e607267e158e4.jpg

Thank you!

You should be able to take the handle as is to a locksmith and have keys cut for it. I was told there are three ways: using optical devices to look inside, to use old "lockpicking" sort of techniques using wee levers and picks and a more clever way I can't remember.

To remove the cylinder you will probably have to remove the bezel. That piece that holds the spring on will have to come off first. What holds it on? Raised stakes from the shaft? Once the spring and washer(s) are off, you should be able to fiddle the bezel off and release a C clip or a spring clip to pull the cylinder. But it might not come out easily if the handle is die-cast - old die-cast often swells as the zinc in it corrodes and it will grip the cylinder tightly.