What The Heck is This? - 39 Century

boaterhat

Hello Everyone,

So what we’re looking at is a 39 Buick Century, I bought this a little over a month ago. She drives great, runs amazingly.

While inspecting the vehicle I noticed this strange bit hanging out under the driver’s side horn. I figured it may be some part of the blinker harness however I see nothing in the shop manual about it.

Do any of you have any ideas?

Thanks a bunch,

buick.jpg

Thanks guys!

Vagas Dave - I know! At first I was thinking "so who put the blinker here". The car has had an interesting past. Up until the 90's it was owned by the same guy. Driven as a daily driver through the 70's. Sometime in the late 90's a fellow in Long Beach "restored" it. The exterior, except for some of the chrome is quite nice. Sadly the grill looks like crud. This is my first project ever.

39_Buick,

Thank you, I think is set up the member tag right, we'll see

Here's a picture for everyone, Glacier Blue is the name of the color if I'm correct.

13230325_10156983885555002_1504085798956999825_n.jpg

Danhar,

Looks like it, and maybe I'm wrong but it goes from the top of the voltage regulator to the horn relay. That is to say if I'm reading the diagrams correctly. I know for sure though it does enter/exit the voltage regulator. I'll take a better photo in the morning.

Thanks.

Boaterhat,

I am not sure what it is, but the photos indicate that the wiring insulation appears to be brittle and if falling apart extensively, exposing bare wires. You may want to make replacement a priority.  It would be a shame to end up with an electrical fire, if one of thise exposed leads finds it way to ground.

Good luck with your project.

Glenn Manes

Wheat Ridge CO

• Like 1

20 hours ago, boaterhat said:

Thanks guys!