31 Almost Ready To Go! Priming Question

midman

Well, I thought i was far enough along to roll out the old girl and try to fire her up. I've been working on my 96S Country Club Coupe for a couple of years now. It sure looked nice once it was out of the garage bay but my "period correct hose clamps" would not tighten up enough to hold. Two were fine but the rest, junk. Oh well, it's gonna be a driver anyway so I'll put regular worm style hose clamps on.

Being my first prewar project and never dealing with up drafts before is there any trick to "priming" the fuel system? I kept the mechanical pump.

Thanks

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

• Like 1

Midman:

So good to see it out in the light of day again!  We were disappointed it was unable to be at the Mason-Dixon show. Of course I was disappointed that I could not get my 1925 Touring there either. Works in progress....

As to your priming issue. Characteristic of up drafts they usually need to be choked to get the vertical flow going. Since this does not have a vacuum tank and has a fuel pump make sure you have good pressure. If it was rebuilt years ago it may need the kit for modern fuels. That horrible ethanol! Since the pump is located on the camshaft side, that is a long trip to get fuel to the carb. I know with my 1937 248 with a down draft Marvel as long as I start it every several days it only takes several spins of the flywheel to get thing going. (I do not have an electric pump on it). Leave it a week or more and it does take a lot longer. (Leak down.) That is where an electric fuel pump in line helps out. To keep the wear down on the flywheel ring gear.

Once you are driving the car more often that should be less noticeable.

• Like 1