1953 twin turbo dynaflow will not go into reverse

Guest Coach101

Guest Coach101

Hey folks, I have a 1953 Buick Roadmaster that will not go into reverse. It was having trouble locking into Park. I found that the linkage was bent. As part of the service, I drained the fluid, dropped the pan and cleaned it and the screen. I did not drain the torque converter but I did let the transmission drip into a pan for a week or so, flipping the shift lever from time to time to release more fluid from the valve. I replaced the pan and fluid and set the linkage as per the manual. I now have Park, Drive and Low only. I disconnected the linkage, started the car on the lift and shifted it from underneath the car while running. It would not go into reverse at any position I put it in. I'm baffle! Please Help.

Thanks

Edited by Coach101 (see edit history)

I don't know about a 53 V8 but when the straight eights wouldn't shift in to reverse the first thing we checked in the dealership was the rear motor mount. If it was soft it would let the rear of the transmission sag 1/4 inch and that would prevent shifting to reverse. Just something to check.

Guest Coach101

Tinidian, Thanks for the reply. All the mounts are new. The car had reverse when I backed it in to the lift. Then i dropped the tranny pan to clean and paint it. I actually went under the car with the engine running and moved the shift lever on the tranny by hand. All it will do is go into Park, Drive and Low. Thanks Again.

Maybe you should put it all back together and go drive around .Go on some steep up and down hills. Maybe reverse will mysteriously return. The week drain down was probably the cause. Some seal dried out or got airbound. Next step the Dynaflow manual and a set of pressure gauges.