Draining lever shocks?

Aaron65

I had the shocks on the '53 rebuilt 4 years ago, and they don't seem very effective; however, on cold mornings the thing rides like a dream. I can only figure that since cold oil is thicker, some thicker oil may help. I'd like to drain these things and fill them with maybe some heavier motorcycle fork oil...any ideas on how to drain them? Any alternative ideas are welcome, and I'm not above pulling them off to drain them from the filler either. :) Thanks!

Guest Oldie & Goodie

Aaron,

I too would be interested to know where you had yours rebuilt. Couple of $$ I've seen range from $500 to $750 for all 4. Seems a bit high but then again I'm new to the game so I don't know if that's out of line or not?

Brian

Edited by Oldie & Goodie
Added name (see edit history)

I had the shocks on the '53 rebuilt 4 years ago, and they don't seem very effective; however, on cold mornings the thing rides like a dream. I can only figure that since cold oil is thicker, some thicker oil may help. I'd like to drain these things and fill them with maybe some heavier motorcycle fork oil...any ideas on how to drain them? Any alternative ideas are welcome, and I'm not above pulling them off to drain them from the filler either. :) Thanks!

Remove the shock from the car, then remove the compression and rebound valves for inspection, draining and cleaning. You then need to refill the lower cylinders. Putting fluid in the reservior at the top will not get to the lower cylinders for a long time. After installing the rebound valve assembly (on the bottom), clamp the shock in a vise with the compression valve opening facing up. Add fluid slowly while moving the arm slowly until full and considerable resistance is felt. Install the compression valve assembly and then add fluid to the upper reservior. I use hydraulic jack oil with good results.