How do you know if the carb is tuned right?

Guest asinger

Guest asinger

My 1967 Mercury Park Lane has a 410 engine and aftermarket Holley 4 bbl carb installed by the previous owner. A year ago we had the carb adjusted pretty well--actually, it was adjusted by my father in law who is the car guy. I'm just a hobbyist.

Since getting the engine rebuilt, I've had to re-tweak the carb somewhat, using the info my FIL taught me regarding the accelerator pump and stuff I've read online about adjusting the two screws on either side of the carb.

Questions:

How do I know when it's "right?"

I had to adjust the accelator pump, opening the nut on top so the spring-thing spread out further. This lessened the "bogging down" problem a LOT, but it still bogs down and stalls if you hit the gas hard, or even just push the throttle down by hand. What could be the problem?

There are several vacuum ports on the carb. My FIL figured out which had to go to the distributor, but at least three are plugged. Why are they plugged--or why are they even there if they're just going to get plugged?

I have no idea what the previous owner did with this carb. How would I know if it needs to be rebuilt or not? Or even if it is right for the car? The manual says the engine uses an Autolite, which according to info online uses 600 cfm. The Holley, according to info online, also uses 600 cfm. I suppose in that regard it's the right carb.

Ideas?

Some suggestions: with the engine off look into the carb and make sure you're getting a good squirt of fuel as soon as you move the throttle linkage. If not the accelerator pump might be out of adjustment or the pump diaphragm might be ruptured.

Make sure the initial timing is set properly and that it advances quickly as soon as the throttle is opened.