Brakes cause car to pull

BrentS

Upon a rather quick brake application, the car initially jerks to the left. This pulling only lasts about a half second, and then the braking appears to be even. It also seems to brake evenly with normal/smoothe brake applications. I had the dealer flush/bleed brake system a few months back, but it really didn't help any.

Any suggestions? I plan to bring it in to a mechanic, but I don't want to start throwing money at parts I don't need.

How do they determing the root cause (caliper, master cylinder, valve block, etc.)?

I have had a lot of experience with the Teves system and I hate to say it but you have a dangerous situation and the only solution is to replace the whole system on the firewall. The problems with the Teves is if the fluid is not changed about every three years moisture will corrode the valves in the valve body of the unit. I have experienced this same condition on my wifes car and replaced the whole unit.

Because of this same corrosion many folks have reported in emergency stops like yours, they will have a hard pedal and no brakes. I bought a car in NJ a few years ago because the owner had this problem and totaled his car.

My wifes also jerked to the left. This is extremely dangerous because if you have to stop fast you will swerve into oncoming traffic.

I have sold lots of ABS's and one of the tests I do and recommend to everyone is to go out on the road with no one around and at about 20 MPH hit the brakes hard and make sure the car stops straight ahead and not pull to one side or the other.

Since yours pulls for only a second and then is OK it might be a caliper or ?????????? but I would be very careful. All of the ones I have had experience with continued to pull or have no brakes in the panic stop situation.

That having been said, just last night I came home with another parts car and the ABS is already been spoken for. I do not have any others available at this time.

Guest steakneggs