1990 4T60 transmission shift module symptoms..

ptt

I am not a transmission expert by any means, but it looks like no one else has a suggestion either. To the best of my knowledge, the modulator only has an effect on the shift firmness, by altering the internal line pressure. More vacuum = soft, less vacuum = firm/hard. To increase line pressure to maximum, disconnect and plug the vacuum line to see if it makes any difference in the ability for the transaxle to actually move. The throttle cable, which connects the throttle to the transaxle, will have a effect on the shift point. If the cable is disconnected, the trans. will shift up very early. If it is pulled out to the full throttle position, it will hold the gear much longer before it will shift.

If it's not freewheeling and you feel the compression holding the car back the second gear clutch pack is probably good and the sprag is probably OK. The problem could possibly be a sticking throttle valve (or cable) or a problem with the governor. Few things I would try that might give you some indication of whats going on.

Make certain the Throttle Valve cable is adjusted properly and there is no indication of it sticking. If you open the throttle and the TV cable goes slack when you release the throttle you have a problem that will keep the transmission from shifting normally.

1. Put the shifter all the way down in the first gear position. Get on the throttle and run the engine up to about 3500 RPM and hold it there for a couple of seconds... Then shift into second then third by hand to see if it will shift. Report back here what happens.

2. I would add some SeaFoam TransTune additive, arm up the engine while shifting from reverse to drive and back in case it is a sticking valve. The car sitting overnight with the additive might help as well. I've known TransTune to help in some situations like yours.

You have nothing to lose and it won't cost you much.