What is WetSanding?

Guest ChaplainLar

Guest ChaplainLar

As I was reading about 'painting it yourself', wet sanding keeps coming up.

What the heck is wetsanding and how do I do it?

"Wet sanding" is any time you sand with a water proof sand paper and repeatedly dip it in a bucket of water. This does two things. It results in no dust and it prevents the paper from loading up or "corning". It's typically done as the final finish sanding with fine grit paper which loads up very quickly if used dry. Waterproof paper usually has "wet or dry" or "waterproof" printed on the back.......Bob

as i have said on a previous post about painting , i have been painting cars since 1965 , all my sanding from the first to last sand is all done by wet sanding (ie) with running water and wet and dry sandpaper . in my opinion it gives a far superior job , plus it beats getting sanding dust in your lungs or wearing a dust mask. as for sore hands the next day they soon harden up after the first layer of skin is worn off

In the early days from the early 1920's on back the bodies were usually sanded and polished on all but the cheapest cars like black Model T's. Other black parts like fenders may or may not have been, but bodies usually were. As sprayable finishes were used and production increased lower priced/higher production cars were less often sanded but they were still often buffed, at least on the body. Senior Packards were probably buffed into the 1940's and beyond.

I was not around then, but my studies seem to indicate that finishes were much smoother and less orange peeled all through the 1950's and 1960's and into the 1970's when water based paints began to be used to control solvent emissions, any old timers out there to confirm?

All I can comment on is Ford...

Model A bodies were color sanded & buffed while the fenders were not. The Fenders were dipped in enamel and the bodies were sprayed with lacquer.