Electrical Problem Detected Problem

Tinkerman

I am getting an engine control has detected a problem message flashing up every few seconds on the CRT on my 1989 Reatta. I went into diagnostics and the only code I am getting is E041 in ECM which is for the cam sensor circuit - at least for the 1988 model year. However, the mechanic believes it is a problem with the air con and wants to replace the whole unit since earlier I was getting a low a/c refrigerant message and then ultra low messages (which disconnects the compressor) even though the levels were fine - I believe that is a problem with the sensor after changing over to the new refrigerant. The a/c seems to be cooling and no errors are being reported after resetting the codes.

I am very inexperienced in any of this and would hate to shell out the money for a new a/c when there is another unrelated problem.

Any help will be appreciated.

Do not, I repeat, do not shell out the money for a new A/C! I'm not a mechanic or an electrical engineer, but I believe someone on the site may have the answers to this one. But what I do know is that mechanics are usually wrong about these things and make up just about anything that sounds like it may be the problem. What better way is there to charge you for something that isn't needed? Not that they really want to do the work in the first place. But in any event, if nobody here responds, take it to a GM certified mechanic. One who has worked on Buicks before and may understand the problem better than the regular lay-mechanic.

Continue on in the diagnostics and in the ECM section go to near the end and it will ask you if you want to reset the codes. Say yes. The run the car again and if you get another E041 then you do have a problem with your cam sensor. Actually it is common for them to go bad. This code is totally separate from the AC on your car.