Water in gas tank - Car spits-n-sputters. HELP!

TomE_1953

When you get a day that hits 74 in KC, MO you can't resist taking the Buick out for a spin. I did and on the way home I stopped to top off the gas tank to make sure it was full before putting her back in the garage.<BR>She was running fantastic all day and once I put the gas (6 gal) in and started down the freeway she started to spit-n-sputter and <BR>she died. I suspect water in the gas that I got. FYI - this was a brand new gas station so I wonder where the water came from.<BR>So far....<BR><UL TYPE=SQUARE>I drained the gas tank<BR>Changed the fuel filter<BR>Changed the spark plugs (needed it anyways)<BR>Sprayed carb. cleaner around the carb and inside</UL><P>What else should be done? confused.gif" border="0

I'm a car rookie, but an old boat expert when it comes to breaking down. :-)<P>I used to always have this problem when I was rich and single (before 3 little girls).<P>Go to good boat supply store. They sell stuff that is much better than dry gas. You can mix this stuff with a gallon of water and you can actually burn it through your engine. Basically converts water into gas. <P>They also sell water seperater filter that you can drain the water from the bottom of a glass bowl, but that is more for a boat sitting in a slip for weeks without running it. Causes constant condensation so it is definately needed. You probably have a one time problem and the fluid that I mentioned works great. Keep that tank full to eliminate condensation.<P>I wish I could remember the name of the stuff, but any good boat store should know what it is. Water in the tank is a very common problem in NJ for boats that sit without use.<P>Hope this makes sense and helps.<BR>Joe cool.gif" border="0