'53 buick super 56r

WillBilly53

i need some advice on towing a 1953 buick super riviera 56r 2 dr from orlando, fl to charleston, sc. Ozark quoted $695, i'd rather use that money on doing stuff to the car itsefl. i have a friend who has an SUV and we were talking about doing a road trip anyways. could anybody give me some advice on how to get this american beauty back up the coast safely. i went to uhaul to see about tow dollys and they said that the buick wouldn't fit on a tow dolly. (they also said that there's no such thing as a 1953 buick, i had to type in "1956 super") Please help!<BR>i'm very new to all of this so i'm sorry if this sounds stupid, this is my first purchase (classic) and it's all new to me.<P>thanks,<P>will eskridge

Dont use a tow dolly, go to Uhaul and get a car Hauler. The 53 super will fit on that.<BR>Make sure your SUV is a large on and that it can haul 6500 lbs because the car is about 4500 and the trailer is another 1600 lbs.<BR>Leave overdrive off on the auto transmission and you should have no problems.<BR>I use the same setup for my 50 super wagon or 47 super 4 door with no problems.<BR>Good luck and enjoy your new car.

Will,<P>Shop around to see if you can't come up with a better price. I had a quote of $925 for trucking a Volvo from Tampa Bay to Los Angeles three years ago so I would think Orlando to SC should be much less than $695. (Airfares were low so my wife and I left the kids with the grandparents and did a quick roadtrip back for about the same price and had a few days vacation to boot!) My quote was for an open car carrier. If the car is driveable you can also consider railroad.<P>Regardless of what you decide to do find someone who knows that there WAS an '53 Buick (geez, only the 50th anniversary of the marque) model year.<P>Good luck, Gene