Intake manifold for Carter AFB for 1965 Impala with 409cui

Gert Frost

Hello,

can anyone clarify if there is any problem with using either of the manifolds 3814678 or 3844463 with the Carter AFB?

348-409.com writes this, but I’m unsure how to interpret it:

Intake# 3844463 

Carb used: 4 bbl Carter AFB 
Year used: 1965 
Model: Passenger car 
Engine: 409 
Horsepower: 400 
Notes: This intake was used on all early 1963 400hp engines with the power brake option only. All early non power brake cars recieved #3814678 intake. Im mid year of '63, production swithched over and used this intake for all 400hp 409 application up to the end in 1965. ”

thanks

GertFrost

I’m not an expert here, but their statement is confusing to me. Their statement that in mid-‘63 all 409s used this manifold. Does “this” reference the antecedent “3814678” or the “3844463” in their description? But, it appears the 3844463 has a port added in the back, presumably for a vacuum line for the power brakes. If you have them you want to use this one.

• Like 2

Gert - having now seen the two manifolds, I believe my guess in our email conversation is correct.

Note that the top manifols has a vacuum port, ostensibly for a vacuum source for power brakes, thus being used on cars with power brakes.

The second manifold does not have the port drilled/tapped; and the vacuum source for power brakes probably was a port in the center rear of the carburetor, thus the manifold became "universal" and reduced redundant part inventory.

Jon.

• Thanks 1

1 minute ago, carbking said:

Gert - having now seen the two manifolds, I believe my guess in our email conversation is correct.

Note that the top manifols has a vacuum port, ostensibly for a vacuum source for power brakes, thus being used on cars with power brakes.