Need Help With Paint Touch Up

neil morse

My car has an older repaint in what I think was the original color (Royal Maroon), but I can’t be sure because the data plate is missing.  I was able to get the paint matched and have touch up paint in small bottles plus a spray can.  I’m happy with the match, and have touched up a lot of little dings and chips successfully.  However, I need advice about trying to repair several larger areas where the paint has chipped off.  The only time I attempted an area larger than a small chip, I had trouble getting a smooth glossy surface that matched the paint around the chip area. This was undoubtedly because I have no experience with paint and no idea what I’m doing!  I used a polishing compound that works well in restoring a shiny surface to areas with surface scuffs and light scratches, but with the newly painted area the compound would not produce a shine – i.e., the color match was good but the surface remained dull and didn’t match the shine of the paint around the area.  In addition to my general lack of experience, I think the problem is two-fold: (1) I am timid about sanding because I don’t want to make things worse by putting scratches in the good paint around the chip that I can’t get out, and (2) I’m lazy and impatient and want the job to be done very fast which is probably unrealistic!

Here’s a pic of the area I would like to repair.  It’s on the trunk lid next to one of the hinges, and measures about an inch by an inch-and-a-half.  I’m not looking for an “invisible” repair – I would just like it to look better.  How should I approach this job?  Thanks in advance for your help.

chip3.thumb.jpg.0ae347a570e1096e57fe8558b36d850e.jpg