Pre War Buick hardware restoration question

MCHinson

My 1937 Buick Century is, to the best of my knowledge, a Survivor although it has had a lot of work over the years. I don't think it has ever been totally restored. I have tried to do any maintenance with the thought of maintaining its appearance or if improving it, making it look more like it did originally instead of different from how it was produced. Although I write up a lot of work that I do on the car as the editor of the Torque Tube II for the 36-38 Buick Club, I realize that I am not an expert and I never claim to be an expert.   

I have seen others restoring cars using several different approaches to restoring hardware such as nuts, washer, bolts, etc. I have seen some people painting hardware black, some cleaning it up and coating it with a clear protective film, some using chemicals similar to gun bluing, some cleaning them up and leaving them as bare steel. I realize there are probably some different approaches that I have not listed or thought of. Being born in 1960, I don't have a good reference on how hardware manufacturing finishes were typically found in 1937 or 1938. I do remember the appearance of bolt, washer, and nut finishes that I saw in boxes of new hardware in my father's machine shop in the early 1960s. 

Sometimes my parts manual shows part finishes for bolts or other hardware. Sometimes it does not.

The bolt descriptions that I see in my chassis manual include the following text regarding finishes:

Plain

Cad.

C.P.

N.P.

C.P. (Brass)

I assume "Plain" indicates unfinished plain steel. I assume "Cad." indicates Cadmium plating.