Trim tag conmfusion

Guest Rooble55

Guest Rooble55

I picked up my '69 today and am real excited about getting to work on it. I am confused about something on the trim tag however - The car is definitely a '69 judging by the VIN, and has blue bucket seats with a console. However, the trim tag shows trim #691, which shows as a blue bench seat for a '69, but blue buckets for a '68. Does this kind of model year confusion just sometimes happen, or did someone maybe change the interior? Also on the trim tag it says BDY EUC226070. What is this? And near the leftmost rivet for the tag it is stamped either D3D or 03D. What does that siginify? Is there somewhere in/on the cat that details what accessorys it came with? It's got power windows, power drivers seat, tilt wheel, etc. Thanks, sorry for so many questions, but I'm new to the Riviera world and am eager to get the car back on the road.

There have been numerous threads on decoding data plates but I think most of them are for 1st generation cars, '63 - '65. The Fisher Data plates only display items for which a base body had to be adjusted for certain options, a hole here for a screw; a tab here to hold down a wire; etc. Other items that could be added during final assembly do not appear on the data plate. What type of radio - am or am/fm. Whitewall or blackwall tires. What wheel/wheel cover.

I doubt if there was confusion at the GM plant, more likely someone wanted buckets and swapped them in.

I'm thinking the 03D is March (03) the 4th week (D)

Hopefully one of the 2nd generation gurus will add to this.

Yes 03D is body build date of 4th week of March of the model year which in your case is 1969. What is your VIN#? VIN should be in the high 30,000s, maybe low 40s I'd think with that build date.