63 riv passenger side rear view mirror

Guest Steeleco

As noted, the driver side mirror will mount on the passenger side. It is my understanding that only the '63 mirror housing will rotate around for proper mounting on the passenger door. So anyone thinkig about doing this on a 64 or '65 Riv need to make sure they have a mirror that will work before drilling holes.

It is not easy finding a good spot on the door to mount the mirror. The vent window needs to clear the mirror when it opens. Mounting it far forward (to match the drivers door mirror) makes it hard to see the mirror (you have to look through the vent window).

You will find that the flat mirror glass is pretty useless on that side. Look for a large round stick-on bubble mirror that will fit inside the housing and stick it to the original mirror glass. If you get one large enough, it does not look like a second mirror stuck on the first; it looks like the bubble mirror belongs in there.

I studied this quite a bit for my '63 and decided not to do it. I do miss having a mirror over there, though. I find it incredible that the drivers side mirror was actually an option in '63, not standard equipment. The things we take for granted today.

If you want a mirror just for driving, not for show because there was no passenger side mirror available in '63, you might consider a 'Peep' mirror like the ones the street rodders. Here's a link to Goolge Images which show some applications. If you see something you like, click on the picture for the link from which the picture was picked. One application show the peep mirror attached to the vent window glass. Attach your convex mirror to the peep mirror, drive with confidence, then remove it when it's time to show off your car.

https://www.google.com/search?q=peep+mirrors&hl=en&tbo=d&rlz=1G1GGLQ_ENUS307&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=PX0FUYHEF8zvqAGppYCIDg&ved=0CAoQ_AUoAA&biw=1017&bih=477