recommissioning 40 110 coupe

Guest jim rosenthal

Guest jim rosenthal

I have agreed to buy a '40 110 coupe which was PPI'ed by a qualified man who approved it. This car is in MI and was restored a decade or two ago- it has been driven very little since that time. It seems to run and drive acceptably well, although he was not able to take it on the highway.

I assume the process of recommissioning the car for frequent pleasure use would include changing out all the fluids and filters, and greasing it. It will also require new tires from what Dave tells me. Since this is my first Packard, and the first one in our family since the fifties, is there anything peculiar to Packards or to this model to which I should pay particularly careful attention? I have had collector cars for quite a while, but not this make.

Any advice gratefully received, as well as advice about good places to buy parts and so forth. I have a lot of experience with Mercedes, and Ford, but not Packard.

I'd want to thoroughly check the entire braking system and the tires. A blown out tire would be a nightmare. Don't forgot they can also rot out inside the tire. Good luck on your coupe. I've been looking for one for awhile and haven't had any success.

As stated above I flush the brakes and check for any leaky cylinders around. You may want consider pulling the brake drums, and greasing the wheel bearings, unless your confident the restoration was done to excellent grade.

I know the master cylinder stick of the car set for more than year without driving. it takes a tap on the side seen to solve the problem until it sits to long again. Given I work all over the world, it unfortunately site considerable in storage. Probaly do for brake rebuilt to on the safe side, of a least a good flush

Edited by packards42 (see edit history)