numbers game on 38 special opera coupe

sawgrass

Hello , Guys. Another newbie here who recently became proud owner of this car,believe it to be quite original so it is a bit rough, got a good bit of work to do but before I get into more repairs I just wondered if somebody could give me a rundown on the numbers, found some, but if somebody might be able to help I would love to understand the history of this car. I'm new to this world of forums so please bear with me. Car is 1938 Mod 46-s(Sport coupe with opera seats?) Style 38-4427 Body 3575 Trim 400 (Tan Bedford Cord?) Paint 400 (IM 1674 Whistler Gray Poly) Engine # 43510360 (248c.i.?) Frame #13367124. Please and Thank You for help!

I suggest if you want details about the specific car, try to find the engine and chassis number. I am not sure if it is true for that year Buick, but the engine number might be on the pasanger side of block of a flat portion. The chassis number is likely on a small plate on the frame under the front fender.

Others may be able to give you full information as to the location of these numbers for that year Buick.

John

Congratulations Sawgrass. The engine number according to the table in the reference section on Team Buick's site shows this to be a 1938 engine. Go to Team Buick Team Buick and register (free), then scroll down to Buick Restoration and in the Buick Decoding & Identification section post this same cowl tag info and engine and frame numbers. Dave Corbin watches this site from time to time and he can decode your information and provide manufacture dates for the frame and engine to determine if they were born at the same time. Unfortunately there is no such thing as "matching numbers" on automobiles of this vintage, you just have to settle for date appropriate.

Post some photos of your new ride, we love pictures.

John V.