walnut trim panels

Guest u571

I try to plan my projects a little in advance so I am familiar with the parts needed.I am now thinking about replacing the walnut trim panels on the doors of my '63.As a former furniture maker/craftsman I have a lot of experience with woods and veneers.Whats funny to me is that until I bought my riviera I would have sworn the veneer trim was lightly stained maple.Upon close inspection it is obviously faded american walnut.As some of you fellow wood lovers know some woods bleach out with exposure to u.v light and some darken(like cherry wood for example).So here is what I would like some opinions on;I have decided to buy a kit rather than do my own veneered panels due to all the other projects and the fact that I have to work for a living...dont you just hate that!Anyway the original walnut veneer is quarter sliced which has a very linear quality.not much character or "grain" but very consistant from car to carI finally got my opgi catalog and their color picture appears to show a quarter cut veneer.Clarks black and white pic is obviously a flat sliced veneer which,while more interesting given the random cathedral patterns is not accurate for the period I believe.Cars catalog rendering looks like how can I say...dog doody? I like cars but I wouldnt trust a sales persons knowlege over mine on the subject of wood over the phone.It is interesting that all the rivs I've seen have faded wood so I always assumed it looked that way from the factory and the replacement panels will take a little getting used to.I would hope that the top coat lacquer finish on the new panels are u.v resistant,not that my new baby will be sunbathing much,but I do live in southern arizona where the sun shines or blazes about 355 days a year!

Thanks for your opinions if you have replaced your panels,Mark:)

Guest REX STALLION