T-3 Headlamps

Guest Lisa-G

Guest Lisa-G

I was out shopping in my Skylark and some man came up to the car, I watched him outside the streetside window of the clothing store I was in. He took off his glasses and looked at the grill. I thought he was going to open the hood so I ran outside and asked what he was doing. He said he noticed the car still has 3 of the 4 T-3 headlamps on it. That they were original lamps and not many vintage cars still have them.

Do they really matter or are they just something that GM put on their new cars ?

I have seen them on ebay and they cost alot.

Thanks for the input

Lisa-G,

I am no expert, but if you have a show car and wanted judged to "as original" condition, you should have the T-3 headlights (all four). However, if you drive it especially a lot at night, I believe there are far better headlight replacements you would want for better night driving.

John

There is a company handling new reproduction T 3 headlights. If you are a stickler for authenticity, then they are worth the price. If you are just looking for safety, my NAPA still has non halogen sealed beam bulbs as well as Halogen sealed beam bulbs.

The original T 3's will tend to give a yellow light after a while, but I still have one on my 56 Buick. The regular sealed beam will be brighter than your T 3's and the Halogen will be brighter still. But the repops are supposed to be just as bright as the other new bulbs.

See the chart below.

lectric ltd article 1.pdf

Edited by JohnD1956 (see edit history)

Guest Lisa-G

One of them, on the passenger side is an ATLAS so im guessing somewhere sometime the car was taken to Chevron for a replacement.

Good guess. Atlas is the brand of replacement parts we had at our gas station. Also, on the repro T-3s be careful as to which pattern goes to which year. You can still get nicked at a show for having incorrect T3s for that time period. I went and bought replacements, 10 bucks is easier to swallow than 90 for an entire set.