Another A/C question.....

Guest Seriousmojo

Guest Seriousmojo

Hello....just signed up today,so I'm a newbie..... I have been reading the posts for a cpl weeks and they have been very helpful. My question is about the a/c in my 1991 reatta....I cannot get it tio stay on. I have followed the advice from several members,but nothing seems to work..... I have disconnected the battery to reset codes. That helped a little,but when turned back on,a/c didn't work again. Even tried jumping the low pressure switch to get the compressor to run....Nothing. It has been converted to 134 and has a good charge acording to a friends guages,and for the short time it ran it put out really cold air.......I have seen in the forum about cleaning the switches in the control panel . Now even tho the blower comes on,could it still be the switch? Any help would be greatly appreciated....

Guest Seriousmojo

ok.....an update on the a/c..........it will come on and work (but I'm sure it needs more coolent) if the temp is under 80 or so. Drove it to work last night and it worked all the way.....Today I drove it ,it's a little over 90 today....it ran for about 20 mins and shut down......I have one fan that I found out is not working..(the big fan on the inside of the engin bay) could the fan have anything to do with this? ....Thinking about selling this car also........... If anyone is interested,I'll try to post some pics........Dave

If you are not getting the fans running this could result in effectively a blocked input which will make the high side pressure go through the roof - high enough (think BD27 will read around 98C) and the compressor will be shut down. It matches the symptoms. You need the fans both working.

Guest Seriousmojo

Thanks padgett......got to thinking that may have something to do with it......I'll check it tomorrow morn,supposed to cool off some tonite.........Thanks again........Dave

Guest Seriousmojo