Floor chains

Guest cardinal905

Guest cardinal905

I am going to pour the floor on my shop addition this weekend and have a question, I am debating putting recessed chains or some form of pull point into the floor---my question is, will I use these someday---anybody have input on how often I would need to pull off a solid point, I am new to restoration but want to plan my shop accordingly. Thanks:confused:

I have seen these installed on occasion and seriously considered it when I built my garage. I decided not to do it. If the area in front of your garage is fairly level and not sharply angled down, pushing a vehicle, frame, etc, in whether its on wheels or dollies is easy. If the area in front is angled sharply away a pull point could come in handy someday.

One thought process is to do it and then its always there if you need it. But it could end up being in the way or a trip hazard and I didn't want that. My rationale was even if you do have a need somewhere down the road, just go buy a $4 D-ring with mounting plate like is used on a trailer and bolt it to the floor using flush type anchors. Then when you are done you can unbolt it and shove something in the anchor holes so they don't fill up with dirt.

Guest cardinal905

I never thought about pulling something into the garage, I have a tractor for that. I was wondering how often guys have found they wish they had a point form which to pull out a bumper or frame. Thanks for the input though.

A buddy of mine poured a floor in his shop pole building. He builds race cars. We framed four square boxes and measured them for locating wheel scales used when building these cars. After the pour was done we removed the box frame and it left a area to place the scales which did not require using a jack to get the chassis on the scales. His honest view is they are a pain in the a$$.

If you've got a bunch of floor area where you can designate an area for the tie downs OK. If it is in the path of normal operation, pass.