What does the "T" mean

Guest northmn

Guest northmn

What does the T in the T-type mean? I feel stupid when people ask me this question and all I can say it is simply the model designation. Some reply it must refer to the T roof . They must be wondering If I even own the car.

Only one thing you need to remember; Wikipedia is a compilation of material written by lay people just like you and me. The only thing I can say as to its validity (?) is that educators do not allow Wikipedia to be used as any source when writing a research paper. Caveat emptor.

Ed

Not all T-types were turbos (that is across Buick, not specifically the Riviera) I believe it is possble to order a Regal with the "T" package but without the LC2 engine and LeSabre T-types from 86-89 where not ever turbo'd. On the Riviera from 80-85 it does as far as I've seen designate the Turbo model but I've never owned one so I'm not an expert.

Then what was the "definition" of S in the '79 S-Type?

I think with all due respect, the meaning of a "type" has been missed. Any addition to a base package has a window sticker definition and that is what should be used as a definition when you are asked.

If someone asks me what makes my Lesabre a T Type, I would say, front and rear spoilers, special paint, bucket seats, console, special steering wheel and Reatta wheels with black center cap.

For you, if you do not have your window sticker, there are 2-3 ways - you can check in the Buick Standard catalog which should define the T Type, you can note the items on your Riviera T that are not on base Rivieras (Rivieras were not really base) for example.

Guest northmn

I was thinking the same thing but didn't want to start anything else here. Could the S referr to "Sport Model"? If the T means "Touring" is there a reason for changing the S to a T ? What was Riviera's definition of "Touring"? I wonder if the meaning referrs to modifications for speed and improved handling similar to race cars.