Just bought my first classic...

Kidpinkers

I just bought my first classic car off my grandfather a few weeks ago. It's a 1959 Lincoln Continental that his dad had and then gave to him. Its got a few spots that are eaten through in the body and a lot of surface rust. The engine works and has turned over quite a few times, but I think most of the body is in pretty bad shape. I have all the tools at my disposal (gramps has a home repair shop with lift and everything in Georgia).

Im a huge classic car lover and have been since I was 7 when I first saw a 1942 Merc. So my question is, Where do I begin?! Im a programmer by profession for one of the largest internet companies in the US and I feel that I have the patience and possibly might have the skill to repair this car. The only thing is I want to do it the RIGHT way. From ground up!

Ive been looking for shop books, parts, pretty much everything possible, but I come up empty. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I also hope to join the members of South Florida AACA with my Husband. He owns a 1972 Super Beetle which is also in the works.

Pics of my baby:

3023493159_38ec1decf2.jpg

Thats the left front end of my 1959 Lincoln Continental

3023492791_4375dc667e.jpg

Left Side View

I know it looks bad, but I want this to work!