1960 Corvair - Should I buy it?

Guest 49 Packard

Guest 49 Packard

OK, So I'm a Packard driver! But a guy just offered me a four-door all original 1960 Corvair. The car is complete, with lots of spare parts from another parts car. Almost no rust, engine is free.

The car did not run when I looked at it this evening, but the owner says he had it running around in his yard last year. Power Glide transmission.

If I can get it running enough to move it back and forth in the driveway what do you experts think it should be worth? The guy only wants $350, and that includes the Corvair shop manual and a back seat full of spare parts.

Thanks for any and all help!

Jay

For the $350.00 I would think you could have a lot of fun fixing up the car. With todays gas prices I'm sure it would get gret gas milage and make a great daily drive if nothing else. If it is not repairable to make run you have sellable parts and could ( I shudder to say ) scrap the remains for more than the $350.00...That is if and only if it is not repairable and you have offered parts to a Corvair Collector.

$350 is nothing. If you don't like it you could sell it for scrap iron and get more than that.

It would be a shame to do it. I happen to like Corvairs and if someone offered me a deal like that I would grab it.

Get it on the road and you will have a car that is easy and fun to drive, gets good mileage (about 25 per gallon) and is surprisingly roomy inside.

The drawbacks? It is the weirdest car ever made by GM. You will have to learn how to fix cars all over again, what you know now will have only limited applications. If this is too much trouble, it would be better to pass on the car.

The second drawback is the lack of a heater. They could be bought with a gas burning heater but even if it has one, it probably quit working some time during the Johnson administration.

Don't worry about the so called deadly handling. Government tests proved the car's handling is not dangerous.