" Sneaky Pete" tool for Rear main seal removal?

Clipper47

I am looking for advice regarding the use of a "Sneaky Pete" rear main seal removal tool. I am replacing the main and rod bearings on my Packard and with the engine in the car. The rear main seal which is a wick or rope seal does weep a bit and I am thinking now would be a good time to change it. The manual I have advises to remove the transmission and lower the crankshaft 1/2" to slide a new upper seal in place but does not mention using any specific tool. The Slim Jim instructions say nothing about removing the trans and seem to imply that the upper seal can be removed without lowering the crank. Any advice based on personal experience with this tool would be appreciated.

I have no experience with that engine, and I figured someone else would jump in here, but since they haven't, I'll go for it.

I have used that tool on rope rear main seals on many occasions, just not on your brand.. It consists of a thick wire with really course threads on one end, and a loop on the other end. it's about 10 inches long. You screw the threaded end in the end of the rope seal as far as you can, and then slowly turn the crank as you pull the rod and seal out by the loop on the end. If you don't turn the crank, the seal won't move..!

To re-install, you grease the crapolla out of the new seal and put it in the sneaky pete, which is just Chinese fingers on the end of a wire. Grab the end, and pull it through as you again turn the crank slowly, obviously in the same direction your pulling..! Cut it off flush and put on a little dab of silicone on the joint.

I've never heard them called Slim Jim, only Sneaky Pete. I'm sure we are talking about the same thing.

Never had to lower the crank. That would be a major production. Don't know why you would need to jerk the trans if you can get at the rear main, but like I said, I haven't worked on that engine

Good luck and have fun.....