'36 Dodge

autonut

Have a '36 Dodge and want to get it running again.  Wanted to get on a couple of websites for parts, and they want to know what series it is?  My VIN # is D2152041,  Thus is this a series a D2?  That comes up with as a coupe. Mine is a sedan.

Can you get me straight on this? Thanks

Lee

I'm fairly new to the 1936 D2 party having purchased my four door non-touring sedan back in October of 2016 but I can offer some info.

Yes, all 1936 Dodge passenger cars were designated "D2" but the vehicle identification number did not start with D2.  The VIN for 36s started with 4015051 and ended with 4276687 and the VIN can be found stamped on a rectangular plate affixed to the front passenger side door jamb.

The number you've given appears to be the motor number and I do realize that some states used the motor number as the VIN.  But Chrysler considered the number on the rectangular plate to be the VIN.  Does your car still have that plate?

Engine numbers for the D2 started with D2-1001 and ended with D2-266089 so your D2-152041 seems to have been built more than halfway into the model year.

What body style is your D2?  Of the 265005 D2s built the vast majority were four door touring sedans (174334 built).  The next most popular body styles were the two door touring sedan with about 37,500 built and the two door business coupe with about 33,000 built.  The remaining body styles were all much less popular having less than 6000 example of each built.  Only 750 convertible *four door sedans* were sold.

So find the VIN plate and tell us what you have.  Also the exact body style, color, and condition.

Edited by Pete in PA (see edit history)