46 Chrysler T&C Woody Convertible - Wood Stripper

Guest rainworx

Guest rainworx

Hi everyone...

Being relatively new to the woody world I could use a little advise on what is the best way to strip the varnish used on these cars? The finish is checked, cracked and blistered from years of storage in a non-climate controlled warehouse and I'd like to improve the appearance of the car before it's sold. I am a carpenter by trade and have used many strippers and finishes in the past but I have never done either on a car. I have heard many different opinions on what is best for stripping and finishing and so far it narrows down to Citristrip for stripper and Helmsman Spar Urethane by MinWax for finish(?). They sound the best out of the many I have reviewed but I am not sure and I would appreciate any help you can offer. Also, if I did decide to go with a stronger stripper (I.E. lacquer thinner, etc.) what would be the best product to use?

I have attached several photo's so you can see what I'm dealing with.

Thanks for your help...

David

post-154867-0-97643500-1443249814_thumb.

post-154867-0-48248500-1443249831_thumb.

post-154867-0-54069500-1443249843_thumb.

post-154867-0-88972400-1443249854_thumb.

post-154867-0-85480000-1443249870_thumb.

post-154867-0-87364200-1443249915_thumb.

post-154867-0-42721000-1443325929_thumb.

post-154867-0-90106500-1443325949_thumb.

post-154867-0-21626000-1443325965_thumb.

post-154867-0-50638700-1443325981_thumb.

post-154867-0-01877300-1443326038_thumb.

post-154867-0-15174600-1443326058_thumb.

post-154867-0-92756000-1443326098_thumb.

post-154867-0-00762000-1443326117_thumb.

post-154867-0-95747900-1443326139_thumb.

post-154867-0-12655700-1443326151_thumb.

Edited by rainworx (see edit history)