Opinions on '83 Riv Convert Value?

Guest Tom

I'm going to go look at an '83 Riv Convert this afternoon. Car has 26,000 actual miles and is supposedly all orignal. White with maroon interior and has the V8. Only thing supposed to be wrong with it is a cracked bumper filler. Current owner has had it for 12 years. Got it from AZ. Asking price is $8500 which seems reasonable, but I'm not a Riviera expert.

Tom,

I've owned three of these cars (83, 84 and 85) and would buy another one in a heartbeat if I could get a good deal.

Based upon that, please buy the car to enjoy; not to make money. While the Rivs are rarer than the Eldorado convertibles, and have a MUCH better engine, the comparisons of what they bring at Kruse and other collector auctions makes no sense.

Is $8500 reasonable? To me, that is pushing it; I would search the Kruse sales results on their Web site, and look at the listings in Hemmings. Of course, remember the prices in Hemmings are asking, while Kruse reports what the car actually sold for.

Also keep in mind that if you buy a 26,000 mile car, you almost CAN'T drive it if you want to protect its' value because its' value is tied to the low mileage.

As for what to look for, remember that these cars have very troublesome electrical systems. Make sure every single electrical component works flawlessly, including every power accessory.

Good luck.

Joe