Leather Cone Clutch Resurfacing Recommendations?

MrLiken

Hello all,

I will update the status of my engine problems back on the original thread, but the engine is out. 

Years ago, I had the clutch relined locally (San Diego) with Kevlar material.  I have to say that during the past few months, the gears have never shifted better.  Upon removing the engine, I found that about 1/4 of the Kevlar material had broken off.  Maybe that's why it shifted so well??

I am now looking for referrals, to send my cone clutch to for relining with leather.  I am told there was a fellow in Orange, CA (Bob Knaak) that did leather relining, but I am unable to reach him.  Probably no longer in business.  Any suggestions are appreciated.

• Like 1

Saw this online, I have no experience with them:

https://fortwayneclutch.com/product/cone-clutch-14-5-cone-clutch-relining-refurbishing-labor-cone-clutch-rebuilder/

It will help if you have specifications on the thickness of the original leather material when it was new.  If the rebuilder installs leather that is too thick, the clutch may not release.

• Like 4

On 10/19/2023 at 1:51 PM, MrLiken said:

Hello all,

I will update the status of my engine problems back on the original thread, but the engine is out. 

Years ago, I had the clutch relined locally (San Diego) with Kevlar material.  I have to say that during the past few months, the gears have never shifted better.  Upon removing the engine, I found that about 1/4 of the Kevlar material had broken off.  Maybe that's why it shifted so well??

I am now looking for referrals, to send my cone clutch to for relining with leather.  I am told there was a fellow in Orange, CA (Bob Knaak) that did leather relining, but I am unable to reach him.  Probably no longer in business.  Any suggestions are appreciated.

Great news for me here.  Bob Knaak is still relining and was just out on tour.  I was able to reach him by email.  Keep all updated on progress.

• 3 weeks later...