Nickel Plating Hardware

usnavystgc

Moderators, please move if this is not the appropriate spot. 

I recently began nickel plating some of the hardware for the restoration of my 56 Buick Roadmaster.  I am a rookie at it but, I have learned a lot and figured someone might benefit from my successes and failures and we could maybe share knowledge on this thread.

Disclaimer:  Nickel plating is not hard however it is challenging to get the desired shiny smooth coating.  This process will not give you that shiny smooth coating.  If you want a smooth shiny coating, you will need to purchase "bright nickel plating solution" from a reputable vendor.  This coating will only give you a rust preventative coating but, it will not be smooth and shiny.  You can however polish it smooth if you so desire.  I do not.

This can also be a time consuming process.

Here's what I've done so far.  

Materials

Nickel plates 1x6" rectangular from eBay

White Vinegar

Table salt

DC Power Supply (I use a 15V/5A from Amazon)

Acid resistant container (I use a quart mason jar)

Muriatic Acid (not required but the fastest way to derust small parts)

Degreaser

Wire brush

chemical gloves

Magnetic stirrer/heating plate (Amazon or eBay)

multimeter

SAFTETY:  Although this is not particularly dangerous, there are some things to be aware of.

1)  If using muriatic acid for derusting, just know that it is corrosive and can chemically burn your skin.  It also produces fumes so use in a well ventilated area

2)  Plating produces hydrogen gas (in small amounts), don't breathe it and don't plate in a confined area over a prolonged period.  You can do it at your kitchen table but not in a small closet over a long period of time

3)  Be careful using a wire brush on a drill or grinder, always wear eye and ear protection

4)  And of course, electricity can shock you.  be careful