Dry compressed air for your blast cabinet

Gents, I clean parts for powder coating and painting for Rivieras. I had the hardest time correctly configuring a compressed air supply with a media blast cabinent. Once the proper configuration was solved so I could media clean my parts I added a refridgerated compressed air line dryer to the system. Ingersol Rand recommended I put a water trap before and after the line dryer. Additionally, it was suggested a dry compressed air reservoir tank be added. The reservoir tank comes right after the second water trap in the supply line. Dry air is critical if you expect any productivity in media blasting, painting, and powder coating.

47B03845-01DB-4591-88E6-D55551321DD7.jpeg

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

10 minutes ago, Barney Eaton said:

I would love to have that much air.........wet or dry

Barney, yep. You can use the wet air to blow stuff off or use pneumatic tools, although we know the wet air is not good for the tools.

I was self taught on getting my 5 hp 60 gallon (15 CFM)Quincy matched up with the an adequate blast cabinet. Stuff like nozzle and orifice in the gun is real important. None of it is hard, but I had to learn the hard way. Then the media was clogging up in my hose! Well, two expert sources said right off you need a line dryer. My father in law put me on to the reservoir tank.

Keep rubbing in the toys you have that i want..... I would use a blast cabinet almost every day but without a large compressor

they are useless.   Guess there is always something we want/need.

Do the better cabinets have a vibrator or low pressure air to keep the media moving?    Anyone here ever use a 'fluidized bed'

"

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Barney, you are correct 100%. Space, budgets, installing the tubing/piping is all time and $$$$.