Advice Needed on 1923 Timken Ring and Pinion Setup

ryan95

Hi everyone, 

I am currently trying to get the ring and pinion set up correctly on the 1923 Moon I am restoring. Anyone with experience with setting up an axle should be able to help. Currently the gear contact pattern is on the toe end of the drive side and the heel end of the coast side of the ring gear. I read that I needed to bring the pinion closer to bring both patterns closer to the center. This started to bring the patterns closer until I ran into a problem with binding. I cant seem to get more than half of the football shaped pattern to appear before I start to have issues. These are the original gears and are worn, but my hope is that they are not too worn. I have a heard that with a used set of gears that the pattern will never be perfect. If that is true, how far from perfect can these gears be before I have issues? This is my first time doing this, so I want to get it as acceptable as possible. What is your advice? I appreciate and wisdom that is passed down to me.

1822393944_Ringgearpattern1.JPG.0b3a7c018f93e03f253fa3afff293920.JPG441486935_Ringgearpattern2.JPG.4795c2e6ec44ea693761dc94f78d5740.JPG

• Like 1

It's rare to get that perfect football.  Attached is the best pattern I got for my 1923 Studebaker and it's very quiet. Focus on the drive side pattern as that is where you spend most of your time driving. Get the best pattern you can while maintaining proper lash.  Pinion lash is very important for gear noise, clunk and wear.

If you have enough lash with the pattern you captured, I see no issues - that is a nice wide contact patch and you are not clipping the edges.

Scott

20140502_202352.thumb.jpg.e5d6e22da0735a2c6f3165cdf454b9d3.jpg20140502_202453.thumb.jpg.e96b8f13220d790ae80124067db08b4a.jpg

797226896_AxleRebuild.thumb.jpg.5395e07a5290641b5588fdc631e1c5b9.jpg

Edited by Stude Light (see edit history)