‘65 riviera grill in a ‘63

the AG

So I recently installed a 65 grill in my 63. I have gotten a bit of info from this site, so I decided to make a short post about what/how and what not to do to maybe pay it forward a bit. 

I will preface this post by saying I am a complete amateur and I’m sure there is a better way to do this. 

First, the real right way to make your front clip have clamshells, is just that. You would need the entire front clip. Fenders, grill, inner fenders headlight assembly even the bumpers are different. So at that point, maybe just buy a 65. 

I’m building this car for my old lady and she saw the 65 grill and mentioned how Badass it looked, so away we go. 

Assuming all of your other grill components are removed, I would suggest pulling the fenders. This is not necessary, but it will likely save you from beating them up during the install. If you choose not to pull the fenders you will likely need some help spreading them as you fit the grill.

The 63/64 inner fenders or the backside of the grill are going to need to trimmed in order to sit in its proper location. This is another reason to have the fenders off, so you can check the fit as many times as necessary. You’ll know when it fits, because it will easily bolt up to hood latch brackets, make sure your not rubbing at the inner fender/backside of the grill. 

Next, While the 65 grill is still off the car, mount the valance(not sure if that’s the right term but it’s the painted part that goes between the fenders below the grill.) make sure you leave all the bolts loose so you can fit the fenders. 

At this point, you can fit the fenders. Once everything is lined up and your happy with the gaps, tighten any bolts that are still loose.